top of page

The Marin Goleminov · Compositions release is a tribute to the 90th anniversary of Academician Marin Goleminov, a classic of the Bulgarian school of composing. This collection contains four works, with the String Quartet No 3 "Old-Bulgarian" standing out as a repertoire work that has been beloved for decades. Written in the 1940s, it is conceptually related to some of his most famous opuses like the dance drama Nestinarka (The Fire-Dancer) and Symphonic Variations on a Theme by Dobri Hristov. The String Quartet No. 7 is from the 70s and bears the marks of Goleminov's evolution of style. The two concert pieces are from the 80s and were inspired by the art of flutist Simeon Shterev and oboist Georgi Zhelyazov. They demonstrate the virtuoso command of compositional and technique devices, of the orchestral writing, Goleminov's ability to refract elements of the aleatoric and sonata, polyphonic and post-realist music through his outstanding individuality. 

This release offers a wonderful opportunity to explore the genius of Goleminov and his significant contributions to the world of classical music.

Marin Goleminov · Compositions

Gega New Online Shop For Classical & Bulgarian Folk Music
Bulgarian Website
bottom of page