top of page

Simeon Pironkov ranks among the most famous Bulgarian composers from the second half of the 20th century. His works in various genres are performed both at home and at prestigious musical festivals for contemporary music in Berlin, Warsaw, Zagreb, Budapest, etc. He is the author of compositions commissioned by full orchestras, chamber ensembles and solo performers. Pironkov's style is characterised by exquisitely coloured melody, flexibility of metre and rhythm influenced by the Bulgarian folk music, delicacy of orchestration and emotional variety, being the result of the sensitivity and richness of his inner world. The works selected for this release represent the evolution of the composer's style. Requiem for an Unknown Young Man is a landmark work in his creative biography, extensively performed by the Sofia Soloists Chamber Ensemble. The solo cello sonata Entrata e capriccio is an original virtuoso improvisation with an excellent form, and the music of String Quartet No. 3 (premiered in 1986 in Berlin) is reserved, now tender, now melancholic, cut through by metro-rhythmical and melancholic accents. Most characteristic is Kammersinfonie for 11 soloists, composed in the USA, an expression of maturity and creative imagination.


Rating is 0.0 out of five stars based on reviews
  • String Quartet No.3 15'46''

    [1] Allegro assai

    [2] Lento

    [3] Sostenuto

    [4] Requiem for an Unknown Young Man 10'26''

    Entrata E Capriccio for Solo Cello 10'43''

    [5] Introduction

    [6] Capriccio

    Kammersinfonie for 11 soloists 17'24''

    [7] Andantino e sostenuto

    [8] Adagio

    [9] Allegro

    [10] Grave

    [11] Allegro

    DDD 54'27''

No Reviews YetShare your thoughts. Be the first to leave a review.
bottom of page